Biotech Brief
Today's Brief

Friday, September 25, 2026

60 articles analyzed

Updated Sep 25, 4:06 AM ยท 60 sources analyzed

Today's Briefing
5-min briefing

Key Takeaways

1

Inozyme Pharma's Phase 3 ENERGY 2 study of INZ-701 in ENPP1 deficiency was terminated with no data disclosed โ€” a serious setback for a company with no approved products.

2

Alector's Phase 3 INFRONT-3 study in frontotemporal dementia was terminated, raising questions about the AbbVie partnership and progranulin biology validation.

3

Merck's oral PCSK9 inhibitor enlicitide decanoate completed Phase 3; unreleased data could reshape the multi-billion-dollar lipid-lowering market if results are competitive.

Today's Scorecard

๐Ÿ† Winner

Merck Sharp & Dohme โ€” Phase 3 completion of the first oral PCSK9 inhibitor positions the company for a potential major label submission if data support competitive LDL reduction.

๐Ÿ“‰ Loser

Inozyme Pharma โ€” Phase 3 termination in a rare pediatric disease with no approved therapies and no data disclosed is a near-worst-case outcome for a small-cap biotech dependent on this program.

๐Ÿ”ญ Watch Next

Merck's disclosure of CORALreef Lipids efficacy and safety data for oral enlicitide decanoate โ€” most likely at AHA 2026 in November โ€” is the single most consequential readout visible in today's sources.

What Matters Today5 of 5
1
Top Story10/10Market Moving

Moderna's mRNA flu vaccine Phase 3 study completed

ModernaTX completed a Phase 3 study comparing mRNA-1010, its mRNA-based seasonal influenza vaccine, against a licensed comparator vaccine in adults aged 50 and older, with relative vaccine efficacy (rVE) as a primary endpoint. The registry status update reflects study completion, but no efficacy or safety data have been released publicly โ€” the readout is the event to watch, not the completion itself. If mRNA-1010 demonstrates superior rVE against standard-of-care flu vaccines, it would position Moderna to challenge the entrenched flu vaccine market dominated by Sanofi and GSK.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
2
Phase 35/10NotableMRK

Merck Sharp & Dohme (Merck & Co.)

Enlicitide decanoate (MK-0616) in Hypercholesterolemia (including familial hypercholesterolemia)

The CORALreef Lipids Phase 3 study evaluating the oral PCSK9 inhibitor enlicitide decanoate in adults with hypercholesterolemia has been marked completed on ClinicalTrials.gov. Full efficacy and safety data have not yet been released; the registry update reflects study completion only.

Why it matters

The completion of a Phase 3 cardiovascular outcomes-adjacent trial for the first oral PCSK9 inhibitor is a pivotal moment for the lipid-lowering class โ€” but without disclosed data, the investment thesis remains speculative. Merck will need to show non-inferior or superior LDL reduction alongside an acceptable gastrointestinal and renal safety profile to justify displacement of established injectable agents.

What to watch

Watch for Merck to present CORALreef Lipids data at a major cardiology meeting โ€” AHA 2026 in November is the most likely venue โ€” and whether LDL reduction holds at a level competitive with injectable PCSK9 inhibitors.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
3
Phase 35/10NotableINZY

Inozyme Pharma

INZ-701 in ENPP1 deficiency (a rare genetic disorder causing arterial calcification and hypophosphatemia in infants)

The ENERGY 2 Phase 3 study of INZ-701 in infants with ENPP1 deficiency has been marked terminated on ClinicalTrials.gov. No efficacy or safety data are disclosed in the registry update; reason for termination is not stated in the source.

Why it matters

A terminated Phase 3 in an ultra-rare disease program with no approved competitors is a serious negative for Inozyme โ€” the company's ability to raise capital or partner the asset depends heavily on whether termination reflects a business decision, a safety signal, or an enrollment failure. The distinction matters enormously for the investment case.

What to watch

Watch for an Inozyme press release or SEC filing disclosing the specific reason for termination and any updated development plans for INZ-701 across the ENPP1 or ABCC6 deficiency programs.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
4
Phase 35/10NotableALEC

Alector

AL001 (latozinemab) in Frontotemporal dementia (FTD) due to GRN mutations

The INFRONT-3 Phase 3 study evaluating AL001 (latozinemab) in frontotemporal dementia has been marked terminated on ClinicalTrials.gov. The registry update does not disclose efficacy or safety data, nor does it state the reason for termination.

Why it matters

Alector's FTD program was co-developed with AbbVie, and a Phase 3 termination will raise questions about the future of that partnership and whether the progranulin biology itself is flawed or whether the trial design or patient selection drove the outcome. Investors should monitor whether AbbVie continues funding or withdraws from the collaboration.

What to watch

Watch for an Alector or AbbVie announcement clarifying the rationale for termination and any decision on the AL101 progranulin replacement program or other pipeline assets.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
5
Phase 35/10NotableMRNA

ModernaTX

mRNA-1010 in Seasonal influenza (adults โ‰ฅ50 years)

A Phase 3 study comparing mRNA-1010 to a licensed influenza vaccine in adults aged 50 and older has been marked completed on ClinicalTrials.gov. Primary objectives included safety, reactogenicity, and relative vaccine efficacy (rVE) against influenza confirmed by PCR. Full efficacy and safety data have not yet been released.

Why it matters

Moderna's flu program is among its most commercially important pipeline bets beyond COVID, but the mRNA platform has yet to demonstrate superiority over high-dose or adjuvanted conventional flu vaccines in older adults. The rVE data, when disclosed, will be the make-or-break moment for this asset's regulatory and commercial trajectory.

What to watch

Watch for Moderna to disclose Phase 3 rVE and safety data, potentially at IDWeek or an ACIP meeting in late 2026 or early 2027, ahead of any potential BLA submission.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
In Depth
Clinical Readouts5 stories
5/10NotableClinicalTrials.gov
Merck Sharp & Dohme (Merck & Co.)MRKยทEnlicitide decanoate (MK-0616)Phase 3
Industry Update โ„น๏ธ

The CORALreef Lipids Phase 3 study evaluating the oral PCSK9 inhibitor enlicitide decanoate in adults with hypercholesterolemia has been marked completed on ClinicalTrials.gov. Full efficacy and safety data have not yet been released; the registry update reflects study completion only.

Why it matters

An effective oral PCSK9 inhibitor would be a major commercial threat to injectable PCSK9 antibodies (evolocumab, alirocumab) and inclisiran, which together represent a multi-billion-dollar market with persistent adherence challenges due to injection burden.

Analysis

The completion of a Phase 3 cardiovascular outcomes-adjacent trial for the first oral PCSK9 inhibitor is a pivotal moment for the lipid-lowering class โ€” but without disclosed data, the investment thesis remains speculative. Merck will need to show non-inferior or superior LDL reduction alongside an acceptable gastrointestinal and renal safety profile to justify displacement of established injectable agents.

What to watch

Watch for Merck to present CORALreef Lipids data at a major cardiology meeting โ€” AHA 2026 in November is the most likely venue โ€” and whether LDL reduction holds at a level competitive with injectable PCSK9 inhibitors.

RegulatoryMedium
ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
4/10Minor
Obesity & Metabolic
ClinicalTrials.gov
Novo NordiskNVOยทCagriSema (cagrilintide + semaglutide combination)Phase 2
Industry Update โ„น๏ธ

A Phase 2 study evaluating CagriSema versus semaglutide, cagrilintide, and placebo for kidney damage reduction in patients with chronic kidney disease, type 2 diabetes, and overweight or obesity has been marked completed on ClinicalTrials.gov. No efficacy or safety data have been released from this registry update.

Why it matters

Demonstrating a renal-protective benefit for CagriSema beyond semaglutide alone would differentiate the combination asset and open a high-value indication that complements cardiometabolic positioning โ€” particularly as SGLT2 inhibitors already have established renal data.

Analysis

Novo Nordisk's CagriSema program faces a high bar for renal differentiation given that semaglutide already has FLOW trial renal data and SGLT2 inhibitors are embedded in nephrology guidelines. The Phase 2 completion is a procedural marker; what matters is whether the combination shows additive nephroprotection beyond the GLP-1 component alone.

What to watch

Watch for Novo Nordisk to disclose Phase 2 renal data at a nephrology or diabetes meeting in H1 2027, and whether results justify advancing CagriSema into a dedicated Phase 3 renal outcomes trial.

PatientsMedium
ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
5/10NotableClinicalTrials.gov
Inozyme PharmaINZYยทINZ-701Phase 3
Program Discontinued ๐Ÿ›‘

The ENERGY 2 Phase 3 study of INZ-701 in infants with ENPP1 deficiency has been marked terminated on ClinicalTrials.gov. No efficacy or safety data are disclosed in the registry update; reason for termination is not stated in the source.

Why it matters

ENPP1 deficiency is an ultra-rare, life-threatening condition with no approved therapies; termination of the lead Phase 3 study is a significant setback for patients and for Inozyme's primary commercial pathway.

Analysis

A terminated Phase 3 in an ultra-rare disease program with no approved competitors is a serious negative for Inozyme โ€” the company's ability to raise capital or partner the asset depends heavily on whether termination reflects a business decision, a safety signal, or an enrollment failure. The distinction matters enormously for the investment case.

What to watch

Watch for an Inozyme press release or SEC filing disclosing the specific reason for termination and any updated development plans for INZ-701 across the ENPP1 or ABCC6 deficiency programs.

PatientsHigh
CommercialHigh
CompetitiveHigh
RegulatoryMedium
ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
5/10Notable
Neuroscience
ClinicalTrials.gov
AlectorALECยทAL001 (latozinemab)Phase 3
Program Discontinued ๐Ÿ›‘

The INFRONT-3 Phase 3 study evaluating AL001 (latozinemab) in frontotemporal dementia has been marked terminated on ClinicalTrials.gov. The registry update does not disclose efficacy or safety data, nor does it state the reason for termination.

Why it matters

FTD remains a space with no approved disease-modifying therapies; the termination of Alector's lead Phase 3 removes one of the few clinical-stage progranulin-targeting programs and narrows the field of near-term options for GRN-mutation carriers.

Analysis

Alector's FTD program was co-developed with AbbVie, and a Phase 3 termination will raise questions about the future of that partnership and whether the progranulin biology itself is flawed or whether the trial design or patient selection drove the outcome. Investors should monitor whether AbbVie continues funding or withdraws from the collaboration.

What to watch

Watch for an Alector or AbbVie announcement clarifying the rationale for termination and any decision on the AL101 progranulin replacement program or other pipeline assets.

PatientsHigh
CommercialHigh
CompetitiveHigh
RegulatoryMedium
ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
5/10Notable
Infectious Disease
ClinicalTrials.gov
ModernaTXMRNAยทmRNA-1010Phase 3
Industry Update โ„น๏ธ

A Phase 3 study comparing mRNA-1010 to a licensed influenza vaccine in adults aged 50 and older has been marked completed on ClinicalTrials.gov. Primary objectives included safety, reactogenicity, and relative vaccine efficacy (rVE) against influenza confirmed by PCR. Full efficacy and safety data have not yet been released.

Why it matters

The flu vaccine market generates roughly $7 billion annually; a superior mRNA-based option in older adults โ€” the highest-risk and highest-utilization segment โ€” would give Moderna a meaningful commercial wedge outside of COVID.

Analysis

Moderna's flu program is among its most commercially important pipeline bets beyond COVID, but the mRNA platform has yet to demonstrate superiority over high-dose or adjuvanted conventional flu vaccines in older adults. The rVE data, when disclosed, will be the make-or-break moment for this asset's regulatory and commercial trajectory.

What to watch

Watch for Moderna to disclose Phase 3 rVE and safety data, potentially at IDWeek or an ACIP meeting in late 2026 or early 2027, ahead of any potential BLA submission.

RegulatoryMedium
ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
Pipeline Pulse3 items
5/10Notable
RespiratoryCardiometabolic
ClinicalTrials.gov

Sotatercept Phase 2 completed in combined post-capillary pulmonary hypertension due to heart failure with preserved ejection fraction

Merck's sotatercept (an activin signaling inhibitor that reduces abnormal vascular remodeling in the lungs) completed a Phase 2 randomized placebo-controlled study in patients with combined post-capillary pulmonary hypertension (Cpc-PH) due to heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) โ€” a population distinct from, and harder to treat than, pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH).

Why it matters

If sotatercept shows benefit in Cpc-PH/HFpEF, it would extend the addressable patient population well beyond PAH, where it is already approved as Winrevair โ€” but the mechanistic rationale is less established and the risk of fluid retention or off-target effects in HFpEF patients is a genuine concern.

Analysis

Merck acquired sotatercept via the Acceleron deal for approximately $11.5 billion, and expanding into the broader pulmonary hypertension/HFpEF space is central to justifying that price. The HFpEF population is enormous compared to PAH, but also has a crowded pipeline; Phase 2 data will need to show a clear hemodynamic or functional signal to attract Phase 3 investment.

What to watch

Watch for Merck to present Phase 2 Cpc-PH/HFpEF data at a pulmonary or heart failure meeting โ€” likely ESC Heart Failure 2027 or AHA 2026 โ€” and whether the signal is strong enough to support a Phase 3 trial design in this indication.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
4/10Minor
Oncology
ClinicalTrials.gov

BeOne Medicines' sonrotoclax monotherapy study in mantle cell lymphoma no longer recruiting

A Phase 1/2 study of sonrotoclax (BGB-11417), a next-generation BCL-2 inhibitor (a protein that prevents cancer cells from dying) designed to overcome limitations of venetoclax, in relapsed or refractory mantle cell lymphoma (MCL) has moved to active-not-recruiting status on ClinicalTrials.gov, suggesting the dose-finding and expansion cohorts are complete.

Why it matters

Sonrotoclax's potency and selectivity profile relative to venetoclax is a key competitive question โ€” if monotherapy data in MCL show deep responses, it would support combination regimens with BTK inhibitors and potentially challenge the venetoclax + ibrutinib standard in relapsed MCL.

Analysis

BeOne (formerly BeiGene) has positioned sonrotoclax as a best-in-class BCL-2 inhibitor, and MCL is a logical first readout given venetoclax's precedent in this tumor type. Recruitment completion is a procedural step, but it signals that efficacy data are approaching โ€” a catalyst the hematology community is watching closely given the unmet need in BTK inhibitor-resistant MCL.

What to watch

Watch for BeOne to present Phase 1/2 monotherapy response rate and safety data at ASH 2026 in December, which would be the natural venue for a first public data cut in MCL.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
4/10Minor
Respiratory
ClinicalTrials.gov

GSK terminates Phase 2 study of GSK3915393 in idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis

GlaxoSmithKline's Phase 2 study of GSK3915393 in idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF) โ€” a progressive and fatal lung scarring disease โ€” has been terminated, according to ClinicalTrials.gov, with no efficacy or safety data disclosed.

Why it matters

IPF remains a space where two approved antifibrotic agents (pirfenidone and nintedanib) slow but do not halt progression, and multiple Phase 2 programs in the past two years have failed โ€” this termination continues a pattern of attrition in the IPF pipeline that underscores the difficulty of improving on current standard of care.

Analysis

GSK's decision to terminate GSK3915393 in IPF narrows its respiratory pipeline exposure to this indication and will prompt scrutiny of whether the target mechanism was insufficiently validated or whether patient selection and endpoint design were the limiting factors. For investors watching the IPF space, repeated Phase 2 failures reinforce that programs with robust biomarker-selected trial designs and novel targets (such as TGFB pathway agents) carry higher credibility.

What to watch

Watch for GSK to disclose the reason for termination in a pipeline update or investor day communication, and monitor whether Boehringer Ingelheim's BI 1839100 cough-focused trial (also terminated in this source set) reflects a broader re-evaluation of IPF trial design at large pharma.

ClinicalTrials.gov โ†—
๐Ÿ”ญBiotech CalendarNext catalyst to watch
Viking TherapeuticsVKTXยทVK2735 (oral)
ObesityยทPhase 3 dataยทQ3 2026ยทPoS 65%
๐Ÿ’กWhy It Matters

Oral GLP-1 competing directly with Lilly and Novo. Best-in-class efficacy in Phase 2 at ~15% weight loss. Phase 3 success could make Viking an M&A target.

โ˜…What We're Watching Nextmonitoring

No coverage today

None of your tracked companies appeared in today's sources.

Every weekday morning

Start your morning with the stories moving biotech.

Clinical readouts ยท FDA watch ยท Deal flow ยท Pipeline pulse

Every weekday ยท Free ยท No spam

Read in 5 minutes.
Sound informed all day.

The daily biotech brief for investors, operators, and BD teams who need to know what moved before the market opens.

  • Clinical readouts
  • ยท
  • FDA watch
  • ยท
  • Deal flow
  • ยท
  • Pipeline pulse
  • ยท
  • 600+ catalyst records

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.